Get to Know the Different Parts of Medicare

Do you know the parts of Medicare? Medicare is often referred to as an alphabet soup due to all the letters. You may be wondering, “why are there so many Medicare parts?”. This article will make it easy to help you get to know the different parts of Medicare. There is Medicare Part A, B, C, and D. Keep reading to learn more about each part of Medicare!

Part A

Medicare Part A is also known as your inpatient hospital insurance. This part of Medicare helps cover hospital expenses such as your room and board, hospice, skilled nursing facility stays, and home health care. Part A also will cover 3 pints of blood in a blood transfusion. Most people will get their Part A for free if they worked ten years in the United States or have a spouse that has worked that long and is at least 62.

You can think of Part A as your hospital room and board. You will receive a semi-private room with meals during your hospital stay.

It is essential to enroll in Part A & Part B if you don’t have creditable coverage to avoid penalties and pay for your medical costs.

Part B

Medicare Part B is also known as your outpatient medical services. It covers medically necessary services like preventive care, diagnostic imaging, lab testing, doctor office visits, ambulance rides, surgeries, radiation, and chemotherapy. Just as people ask if they will need Part A, they also ask if they’ll need Part B. The answer is yes; you need Part B if Medicare is your only coverage or primary coverage. Parts A and B together make up Original Medicare and are the only Medicare parts you’ll sign up for through the Social Security office.

You may Also Like :  A Dietitian Weighs In: Apple Cider Vinegar Gummies Review

Every Medicare beneficiary that enrolls in Medicare, must pay the Part B premium. In 2022, that standard premium is $170.10, but you can pay more if you made more.

Part C

Medicare Part C is also known as Medicare Advantage. It is insurance that private insurance companies sell. You can choose to go with a Medicare Advantage plan over Original Medicare, although you must stay enrolled in Part A and Part B to enroll in an Advantage plan. Instead of getting your benefit through the federal government, you would get them through the Advantage plan. There are many network providers you could choose from to seek care. Part C plans tend to have a lower premium than a Medigap plan. You will, however, have more copays with a Medicare Advantage plan.

Many people like to weigh their options between getting a Medicare Advantage plan and getting a Medicare Supplemental plan. It’s wise to compare the two before purchasing one.

Part D

Medicare Part D is a prescription drug plan created to help you with the high cost of retail prescription drugs. You cannot go through Social Security to purchase a Part D plan; you must shop them through private insurance companies. This is an optional plan that beneficiaries tend to pick up to help them with the costs of prescription drugs. Part D plans have a monthly premium and copays for your prescriptions. There are certain times you can enroll and even dis-enroll from Part D plans, so staying up to date with these timelines will help you decipher.

You may Also Like :  A Guide to Buying Luxury Items

What About F, G, N, etc.?

Many people are confused about whether Medicare has four parts because they may have heard of Plan F, Plan G, or Plan N. There are just four Medicare parts. However, the other letters you hear are the types of Medigap plans.

This is Medicare Supplemental coverage sold through private insurance companies to help cover the out-of-pocket costs in Original Medicare. There are many different Medigap plans, Plan A, B, C, D, F, G, K, L, M, and N.


The parts of Medicare can be confusing! It can be a lot to take in at once if you’re new to the Medicare world. We hope that this article provided you with clarity on the different parts of Medicare!